Collecting Haunted Items

I freely confess that this blog is going to be a rant but first a little background. I make no bones about the fact that I am a magical practitioner. As such, and because I try to do the right thing, I have been called on, occasionally, to help people who were in distress sort out an issue with magical or paranormal roots.

I have, at times when I was more public about my beliefs and practices, felt like a character out of Dion Fortune’s barely fictional novel The Secrets of Dr. John Taverner. If you know that work, I have actually met a child that I thought might be more Faerie than human and I have been in the middle of sorting out someone who had been initiated into what turned out to be a questionable group. Those who have read these pages know that I am a world walker, using both shamanic and etheric/astral projection techniques to travel in the Otherworld. While no one can know all of the Otherworld – it is simply too vast – I can lay claim to some knowledge and some familiarity with the spirits that walk those realms. As I have repeatedly asserted in this blog, many of the beings of the Otherworld are quite neutral toward humans, others are down right helpful and then there are the ones that are hostile to humans or regard us as prey.

Anyone who goes into the paranormal investigation “business”, unless they are astoundingly lucky, is going to come across cases where the forces in question are hostile, sometimes in the extreme. The proper response to these cases may vary, according to the skills of the team members. A team geared more for evidence collection is likely going to be forced to bail out of a hostile haunting while a team with other resources (mediums, shaman, Wiccans, exorcists etc) may be able to negotiate a truce or, in some cases, banish the entity.

What I want to rant a little about today is the practice, amongst some investigators who style themselves as demonologists, of actually taking items out of hostile haunted locations and storing them in “museums” where they can be accessed by the public. Not to put too fine a point on it, what the hell are these people thinking! Folks, I have done an etheric projection into one of these places and I can tell you with certainty that what I experienced there was enough to make me want to take a flame thrower to the place. Of course, humans have free will and they will do what they will do but I strongly urge you never to step foot in one of these houses of horror. The exposure to negative energies is not worth the thrills and chills. Even if 99% of the ‘legends’ in the place are false, that still leaves a small percentage of items that have been well and truly tainted.

A person who calls him or herself a demonologist should have a more than passing knowledge of the occult and magic. All those grimoires with spells for summoning demons were not fanciful medieval works of fiction. Granted, many of the “demons” were actually daimon who were mislabeled but I do not want to digress. The person who wants to call themselves a demonologist needs to have a deep knowledge of the spirit world (all types of spirits and not just the demonic) and more than passing knowledge of how energy works in a magical context (as well as a good understanding of physics). I’ve yet to see any of the alleged demonologists that are so popular on TV display any of this sort of knowledge, relying instead on appeals to St. Michael and other holy beings to keep things under wraps.

Now, far be it from me to discount the power of a fervent prayer, but, if you think that even the most fervent prayer is going to hold negative energy in check forever and render items that have come out of hostile haunting locations “safe”, then you are so delusional that you need to be checked into the magical equivalent of a psych ward right away. Even the best spells designed to hold something in place, will tend to decay over time unless there is a physical anchor for the spell and the spell is reinforced daily. Even then, it is a dangerous game to play – think of the djinn being inadvertently released from its bottle. Accidents happen.

There is no safe way to store “haunted” relics unless the item can be rendered completely inert – which will often destroy the object. But rendering the item inert takes out the creepy factor, doesn’t it? And these “museums” are making money off of offering people a new thrill, a different chill. This is not a game, folks. Contact with items that have been exposed, perhaps even immersed, in hostile energy fields or which may even have curses attached to them, can cause effects on people who are not even psychically sensitive. These effects can range from bad dreams and a sense of being watched to, in a worse case scenario, spirit incursion or even possession if the person is not properly defended. Again, having walked through one of these places in my other body, I strongly urge you to stay away from this kind of “entertainment”.

As I said before, humans have free will and will do what they will do. Perhaps it is part of the life lesson of some people to be exposed to these energies. It is my hope that it will be part of your life lesson to listen to the advice of an experienced practitioner and avoid these museums like the plague. Further, it is my fervent hope that this advice will spread and that the funds for these places will dry up completely so that there is no money in continuing this foolishness.

Here ends the rant.

About stormeye60

A place for discussing the interface between magic and things that go bump in the night. View all posts by stormeye60

3 responses to “Collecting Haunted Items

  • Stephanie Qich

    oh and i forgot: “I have, at times when I was more public about my beliefs and practices, felt like a character out of Dion Fortune’s barely fictional novel The Secrets of Dr. John Taverner. If you know that work, I have actually met a child that I thought might be more Faerie than human and I have been in the middle of sorting out someone who had been initiated into what turned out to be a questionable group. ”

    details, please!!! (while protecting the innocent – i say expose the guilty all you like, as no doubt would Ms. Firth) happy day! steph

    • stormeye60

      Ah, Steph, to go into some of the strange things that have graced my path since I started on the magical way might require a blog all its own. I will consider some blog posts on some of the highlights . . . if I can figure out what those are 🙂

Leave a Reply

