Kaaterskill Falls

I promised, a while back, that I would provide periodic updates about my new home territory so I thought I would follow up on that promise.

I have been extremely busy of late and have not had a lot of chance to research the area but I have been making a point of getting out on the weekends and doing some hiking before the weather gets a lot colder and the snows begin to fall. I am known to bundle up and go out even in the dead of winter but there is not generally as much activity, either in this world or the Otherworld, in the cold season.

Recently, I went with a group of people to one of the more popular destinations in this area, Kaaterskill Falls. For those of you who are interested, there is information on this site on-line. I encourage you to Google the area and check out the images if you do not happen to be within striking distance of the falls themselves. While the falls lack the sheer awesome grandeur of the better known Niagara Falls, they are quite beautiful and set in the heart of the Catskill Mountains near some of the higher peaks in the range.

The falls are located on public land and the trail that leads up beside the creek bed is well marked and reasonably easy to traverse. The daring can continue past the terminus of the trail up to an area that I believe is called the Amphitheater. I did not make it to the top – a hike the day before had left me with sore knees and I decided not to punish myself anymore – so I ended up guarding packs and camera bags for some of my group that made the ascent.

This little break, of course, gave me a chance to look at the site with other eyes. I had been very aware of being watched as I made my way up the trail and, given my experiences out in these mountains so far, I was reasonably certain that the faery were out in full force. As I sat catching my breath, I allowed myself to sink into a slight trance and take a look around. I saw . . . nothing. Still, I was very aware of presences all around me and I surmised that the spirits of that land were firmly hidden.

I listened intently with my inner ears and found myself humming what sounded like a Celtic jig and the atmosphere darkened for a moment (passing cloud?). I had the clear sense that the faery of that area did not want to be seen and that they were none to happy about the constant intrusion in their realm. I offered the little tune in my head to them and tried to explain that, for the many humans who could not see them at any time, this was one of their only opportunities to actually have contact with nature and learn something about its beauty and preciousness.

I do not think the faery were placated but the atmosphere did seem to lighten a bit. I tried to put forward the idea to these local fey that they could help educate people and make them more respectful of the Earth if they chose to do so but I think it is going to take a lot more than one session with these spirits to make a real impact. Hopefully, though, if enough people who can feel their presence talk to them and work with them, they will see that not every human is incapable of seeing past the end of their nose.

Folks, if you happen to be go out to any wilderness area, please remember that you are sharing that area not only with the local flora and fauna but with the spiritual ecosystem that underlies all the growth. Even rocks have spirits attached to them. You do not have to be paranoid, but please, be respectful of where you are and, if you are so inclined, make an offering to your favorite place or places. Traditionally, in Celtic Lands, the fey were offered things like porridge and cream, but I think that an offering of water to a tree or a few nuts to the local wildlife, if given with a spirit of respect, awareness and gratitude toward the local spirits can go a long way toward repairing relationships that have been increasingly damaged as humans have moved further and further from the land.

I would also strongly encourage you to listen to your gut when you are out in the wild. You do not have to be a full fledged psychic or practicing mage to recognize that certain areas just do not feel right or feel as though you are intruding. If you happen across such a place, then respond to that intuition and leave the area quietly and, again, with that attitude of respect and possibly an apology for intruding. There are a lot of reasons why that gut level danger warning activates and none of them are healthy for humans.

About stormeye60

A place for discussing the interface between magic and things that go bump in the night. View all posts by stormeye60

3 responses to “Kaaterskill Falls

  • Stephanie Qich

    hmm. i will try once again…
    Hi Stormie!! wow! Kaaterskill Falls is so beautiful! and what an interesting experience you tell here. I agree completely with your advice, and wise words: “Folks, if you happen to be go out to any wilderness area, please remember that you are sharing that area not only with the local flora and fauna but with the spiritual ecosystem that underlies all the growth. Even rocks have spirits attached to them.”

    it’s funny, my husband runs hot and cold on whether he’ll cop to believing any of ‘this stuff’. But he loves his tree, fur and feather people – half of what he carries when camping is nuts for the local peeps….summer before last we had a bad drought around here, he carried a number of water jugs and bottles in to work so he could water some of the younger trees on his lunch hour. Not the first time he’s done this service for trees.

    Actions speak louder than words 🙂

    “I am known to bundle up and go out even in the dead of winter but there is not generally as much activity, either in this world or the Otherworld, in the cold season.” i love this type of info. I’ve never lived in a snowy place, always in the sf bay area, so these reports just fascinate me. I wonder how much is migration to warmer climes, like the birds do, and how much is hibernation like the bears?

    And here’s a little synch for you – i just posted a video of a time i experienced the power of hummingbird love, wherein i used the phrase ‘fairy ampitheatre’. it’s here if you like (i know it’s a bit off topic, but i don’t see another way to contact you):

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bks8qar8amg (Preview)
    Thank you and have a great weekend!!! steph

    • stormeye60

      Steph:

      Loved the video . . . we do not get a lot of hummingbird activity in my neck of the woods but I used to love to watch the little guys when I lived in Tx. many moons ago. I love these sorts of “just stumbled across something beautiful in the wild” moments.

      Storm

      PS lived in Pacifica for a year when I first graduated university; the Bay Area is a lovely place full of all sorts of interesting spiritual activity. If I had known then what I know now . . .

  • Magical Experience: A Walk In The Moonlight | Monsters and Magic

    […] I have noted in my posts entitled, Kaaterskill Falls and Missing 411:An Interesting Psychic Impression, the Land where I now live has already provided […]

Leave a Reply

