Moving On

images

This is the introduction to my blog from the About tab:

Some years back, I blundered into a wonderful book called Monsters: An Investigator’s Guide to Magical Beings by John Michael Greer. For the first time, it occurred to me that all this esoteric material that I had been learning had a place in the paranormal and cryptozoological world of which I was so fond. Greer, who is a ceremonial magician in the Golden Dawn tradition, put forward the idea that, in order to really understand the “monsters” that people kept seeing and reporting, we needed to set aside our predominant Western materialist mind set and look at the world through the eyes of a magician.

So, that is what I will attempt to do in this blog – look at these sightings and stories that have interested me for so long through a different lens. My object in writing this blog is to make people think and to say to themselves “what if . . . “. I am not out to convert anyone or give them instruction on how to become masters of magic. I am simply going to take what I have learned over the course of the years and propose some ideas that I think may help to explain some of the “high strangeness” out there.

In the time that has passed since I wrote those words, I have done my best to follow through on that simple mission statement. I have presented magically aligned theories about a number of phenomenon and I have even presented information from my various spirit contacts about certain aspects of the paranormal and Fortean that I felt disturbed enough about to explore in more depth.  I have even given some psychic impressions of places where I have lived.  I have also never claimed, in all that time, that mine is the only or even the right explanation for a particular phenomenon.  As I say above, I have never sought to convert people to my way of thinking and, though I have had strong words for certain actions taken by people who pretend to be experts, I have, for the most part tried to keep an even keel in writing about this topic.  My strong words have come for those things that I have seen as patently dangerous.

 

Unfortunately for the sake of the blog, I am working hard at getting a writing career in fiction going in addition to my day job.  I have short stories coming out in anthologies this fall and winter and my book is tentatively scheduled for publication in November of 2017.  My time is extremely limited as I work a 40 hour week and put in hours at the keyboard drafting book 2 and beginning to think about book 3.  I know, from looking at the stats, that this blog gets a few visitors every week who rummage through the files and then move on to other things.  I find myself in a position where I have to prioritize my time and I simply can not continue to pour the time and effort that I have into researching and then writing several hundred words a week that I could be putting into my books or stories.

As I did when I took a hiatus a while back, I will leave the blog up for anyone interested in looking at the articles and I will respond to comments as I am able – so, if you have a question or want to know something more about a topic, drop a note in comments and I will see it and be happy to respond.  I want to thank the core group of people who appear to keep coming back to see what I have written.  Your support over the years has kept me going.  I hope that you will find other interesting places to continue your research.

 

About stormeye60

A place for discussing the interface between magic and things that go bump in the night. View all posts by stormeye60

4 responses to “Moving On

  • jeanne

    I totally understand about prioritizing projects and where to spend valuable time. I do hope you will leave up your blog and maybe drop in from time to time to share thoughts or comments or even keep us notified of your story & book releases. Your perspective on things gives me much food for thought. Thank you.

  • stormeye60

    Thanks for your response. I hope to be able to check in periodically and the blog will remain up until WordPress makes me take it down 🙂

  • P.J.

    Hi. I recently discovered your blog and have been working my way through all your entries. Thanks much for doing this! Fascinating stuff!

    I appreciate your balanced perspective on topics related to magic and the paranormal. I am very interested in shamanism and have started to study the work of Greer, Miller, and Foxwood. The magical or shamanic perspective has long seemed to me crucial to gaining some kind of reasonable (for lack of a better word) understanding of paranormal phenomenon.

    I am wondering if you still are doing any writing or teaching. I am also wondering what you might book you might recommend to learn about safely learning how to undertake etheric projection.

    Thank you,

    P.J.

    • stormeye60

      P.J. Thanks for your comment and glad you enjoyed the blog. I’m not really writing or teaching about the paranormal these days – there are only so many hours in the day 🙂

      Etheric projection is a skill that really needs to be taught in person; I don’t know of a book that gives a good description of the process.

Leave a comment